Book Three: Lila Hartage of the Love Warrior Community

Lila Hartage, Volunteer at the Love Warrior Community
Do you love yourself? For some people this question is painful to answer. As society evolved into focusing on a specific and increasingly unattainable version of outer beauty we’ve developed a belief that we are not good enough leading to self-doubt and even self-hate. Walking through our daily lives we see images that insist we look, act, and feel a certain way. These are not just in the media, but what we learn and replicate from our family, friends and strangers alike. The Love Warrior Community shifts the focus away from unhealthy images of our self and turns us towards self-love and body acceptance. Their motto is “Love yourself. Love your body. Love the world.” Lila Hartage is a volunteer using social media outreach to share both her own self-love journey and encouraging others to become their own personal Love Warriors.
Share a little background about yourself and any previous volunteer experiences that shaped your life.
I volunteer for many different agencies. One of my favorites that shaped my life is called Bridge-Network which is based out of Sacramento, California. I was a human trafficking victim and they helped orchestrate services for me, so that I could be free from childhood prostitution. They have been like family. The next organization that I have become involved with just recently is the Love Warrior Community. In 2010, I was diagnosed with bulimia, this pattern continued for 2 years until I picked up the book “Self Love Diet: The Only Diet That Works”, where I came to re-learn how to love myself and practice self-love daily, and today I am free from my eating disorder.
What inspired you to get involved in a community encouraging self-love?
I think because I know what it feels like to be broken, depressed, and have all kinds of demons that kept me trapped, disordered, and fearful. For me, Self-love became important when I realized that I was important, that I deserved love I would give someone else.
What steps did you take to start this particular journey?
First, I was just submitting things to the love warrior community. And then I saw this page that said they need an intern!! And I was like I need to do this. After a series of emails, some official blog entries and a series of photos that I have created for the LWC, my dream has become a reality. I started a twitter and Facebook account that promotes Self-love with tips and daily inspirations for others to start their own self-love journey!
What obstacles have challenged you?/What is your proudest accomplishment during your time volunteering? 
I think, “writers/artistic block” has been one of the most challenging obstacles. I think one of my proudest accomplishments is every time someone likes a photo or blog entry that I have created via Facebook or on the Love Warrior Community Group blog.
How can people get involved in the Love Warrior Community or create self-love in their own lives?
It is really easy, every section of the Love warrior Community provides submission guidelines on how to submit items to the website. One way people can create self-love in their lives is by knowing the following: self-love comes with time, self-love comes with self-care, and self-love begins when your first love yourself.
About Impower You

Empowering the wrold with articles, resources and interviews that educate and inform.
This entry was posted in Book Three, Youth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Three: Lila Hartage of the Love Warrior Community

  1. Reblogged this on WriterZone and commented:
    This is a powerful interview!! You are more than your situation. Social Justice begins with your commitment to creating a better today #JusticeForAll

  2. Thank you Leah for a wonderful interview featuring our Love Warrior Intern, Lila. We all come from different walks of life and have our uniques stories that help form us, and yet we’re all connected by our desire to promote self-love and empowerment. Thanks for your work in the world.

  3. Impower You says:

    Thanks for suggesting her. I loved reading her answers. Lila is awesome.

  4. We’re lucky to have Lila on our team! She is an inspiration, a powerful writer, extremely social media savvy and very creative. I was surprised to read that her biggest challenge was “writers/artistic block.” We’re excited that we have a great Love Warrior on our team!

Share Your Experience Here:

